A Stitch in Time

A Stitch in Time 12-30-12

A Stitch in Time

6″ x 6″ (15 x 15 cm) – oil on gessobord – commission

It took a lot longer than anticipated, but I finished it this year! This is a very important painting for me and I wanted to do it right and took my time. This is my first commission. And an international one at that.

With this year almost gone I see many of my artists friends doing a recap. I read them with great interest – people have accomplished great things, painted significant works, showed work in important places, taught numerous students, and thought up amazing innovations. I thought to myself I must do a year-end post as well.

So here it goes:

  • In 2012 I painted 11 paintings and sold almost all of them. Got and painted my first commission!
  • Made my sketching a serious practice, drawn numerous sketches, traveled to Stockholm and sketched there.
  • Founded Urban Sketchers Chicago group as a part of Urban Sketchers global movement. The group is now 75 artists strong, meets monthly and has its own FB page and blog.
  • Met and friended a great many artists around the world and learned a great deal.
  • Began to understand and use social media marketing – it works, how amazing!

It was a great year – 2012. Here’s to a better one in 2013!

7 thoughts on “A Stitch in Time

  1. It’s a beautiful painting – I know the recipient will be thrilled with it. It sounds like you have had an art-filled, productive year. The Urban Sketchers Chicago group – what a great idea! I followed your links to the international group. If I understand correctly, correspondents are established artists and membership is by invitation-only. I’m curious to know if there is anything similar going on in Oregon.

    I’ve certainly enjoyed your paintings and your blog this year. Wishing you a wonderful 2013!

    Sue Harrell

  2. Congratulations Alex. Your accomplishments are truly inspiring and very impressive. The painting is lovely. My mother had a similar machine and it used to scare me when I was small – that needle flashing up and down seemed destined to eat small fingers.

    • Thanks, Linda! It does look like I was busy lol. These old Singers are such beautiful objects of design, we admire them even if using much more modern ones to actually sew. I have two: a contemporary white plastic one to sew with and this one to paint :).

Leave a Reply

