Six and a half

Six and a half 8-23-2013 6x6 lores

Six and a Half

6″ x 6″ (15 x 15 cm) – oil on gessobord

It seems that every realist painter worth his or her salt paints eggs at some point. It is almost like a rite of passage. Can I or can I not?!… I noticed this phenomena some time ago and knew that I too would have to paint eggs sometime.

And now I have. It was damned hard, just as expected. They have to be perfect, I discovered, and curve perfectly in the light or they will not look like real eggs – and that’s the whole point!

Eggs are an excellent assessment of one’s current skill as a realist painter. I know I will paint eggs again in the future – to see my progress if nothing else.

6 thoughts on “Six and a half

  1. beautiful eggs and a fine tomato too! Not to mention the very nicely done carton, and the label inside the lid. You can paint an egg.
    Love your work, and enjoyed your comment on feeling the need to paint an egg.

Leave a Reply

